Welcome!

So I’ve finally decided to enter this blogging world. For quite a while now I wanted to start a blog but couldn’t figure out what to write about. Well, a few months ago my 2-year-old son was diagnosed with autism and since a good chunk of my thoughts and energy are devoted to autism, I figured I might as well write about that.

I’m still getting used to this blog provider, so please bear with me as I fiddle around with the look and feel of it.

I guess when I was first dealing with the possiblity of autism, I searched for resources for dads dealing with this. It seemed like I mostly found things geared towards Moms and the blogs and websites I saw that Dads had done were usually very depressing and scary for a soon-to-be-parent-of-an-autistic-child to read. I wished there was a place where there could be honest discussion, but also some source of hope.

So that’s what I hope this blog can be. A place for me to speak my mind about my life and to offer some advice, hope, and encouragement to others who may be dealing with this too.

The title of this blog is “1 in 150.” That’s because right now in our country 1 in 150 kids are being diagnosed with autism. That’s a pretty scary number. The numbers are even worse for boys (something like 1 in 80 or 90).

So in the coming days I hope to tell you what got me here and what life is like these days with an autistic toddler. I think this blog will be hopeful, poignant, funny, and perhaps a little venting too from time to time. Enjoy!

Tags:

4 Responses to “Welcome!”

  1. awalkabout Says:

    My husband is great with our two, but I know that the general trend is for dads to be absent in person or mind. So if you’re hanging in, kudos! Please feel free to talk to most of us–no one bites (much). 🙂 I have a lot of sites on my blog of folk who know our path either as a parent or a person with autism. Many different, exciting viewpoints! Questions? Please ask.

    babs

  2. lookingforlifeshumor Says:

    Welcome to “the family!” I have found help, hope, laughs, and encouragement through blogging, and hope you find the same. Please come check out my blog at lookingforlifeshumor.wordpress.com for a funny look at a family with autism 🙂

  3. FXSmom Says:

    Welcome to the bloggy world. Hope to learn more about your family 🙂

  4. Sharon K. Lind Says:

    Hi! I am so excited to read your blog–more excited that you are the father of my precious grandson….I see your faithfulness to “be there” for him–lots of Dad’s walk out–your patience to sing a song even to the 20th degree–lots of Dad’s would yell and be angry….bless your heart–may the Lord who sees in secret, reward you openly………mom sk.

Leave a Reply

