Urine Trouble

200582416483477428.jpg

A couple of posts ago I talked about all the fun we get to have these days with poop. Well, our lives aren’t just limited to poop. We also get to have fun with pee at least once a month.

Every month we make a visit to our DAN! (Defeat Autism Now!) doctor to have some kind of levels checked. To tell the truth, I usually have no idea what these levels mean, but apparently they mean something important. So the fun part is we get to collect a urine sample from our son.

If it were just a urine sample from you or me, that would be no problem. Just pee in the cup and you’re good to go. But alas a two-year-old can’t just pee on command into a cup, so we get to put these funky urine collector bags over his privates. What usually happens is the bag leaks overnight into his diaper so we have little to no urine to work with the next morning. In the past I’ve been able to wring out the spongy part into the cup and get enough urine to do the tests. But this morning there was barely any on the sponge.

So we put on another bag since we still had a couple of hours before leaving the house. Well my son who hadn’t pooped in about 3 days, decided now would be a great time to poop, so we had a collector bag smeared with his feces and of course there was some actual urine in the bag that was unusable.

But I guess we can be happy that we’re giving equal time to poop and pee battles these days. A couple of months ago I got to Fed Ex some of his urine to a lab in Kansas and I kept telling people that “I bet I did something today you’ve never done before…mailed pee to Kansas!”

Well now our dr. informed us we should run a test that will involve shipping his pee to France! How’s that for cool? I really wish I was making this up. I may never get to France myself, but I can be proud that a little part of our family (even if it’s in urine form) will get to visit. Hopefully I’ll get a postcard.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Urine Trouble”

  1. Lori Says:

    At least you can see the subtle humor in things. You almost have to! I really enjoy reading your blog and you’re in our thoughts and prayers everyday. Just hang in there!

  2. FXSmom Says:

    Boy do those bags bring nightmares. My son was born with a deformed penis. Top that off with fragile x/autism and you have a recipe for disaster. We spent 5 hours in the lab one day trying to get him to pee in one of those. I think he had pee fright. I got to bring one home to put on him while he slept. The accumulated pee tha we received in the morning I had to drive to the lab … 45 minutes away. It was interesting!!

  3. Urine Debt « 1in150’s Weblog Says:

    […] So you may recall me writing a while back about having to collect some of my son’s urine to ship off to […]

Leave a Reply

