Let’s Play the Recorder!

Sorry for my lack of updates recently. I just returned from a business trip to Las Vegas and am finally getting around to writing a new post. My trip to Vegas went well….I didn’t get sick on any buffets and I only lost $7 in the slots, so I didn’t have to have anyone back home wire me some money.

I wasn’t sure what my son’s reaction would be upon my return home. At first he just kind of looked at me like “oh that guys’s back.” But a little while later he came over to where I was sitting and rested his head on my arm. Before long he was taking me by the hand to go off on little adventures with him throughout the house. I saw the musical “Jersey Boys” while in Vegas and loved it so much so that I picked up some Four Seasons cd’s from the library. Josiah absolutely loves the cd and every time a song would end, he’d look over at the cd player as if he was trying to will the next song on a little quicker.

He’s such a big fan of music, that right now we spend a lot of time with songs in the house whether it’s on cd, dvd, or our singing. We recently bought a recorder as we thought he’d get a kick out of that. He’ll now hand it to me and say ‘corder.’ I learned how to play it when I was like 7 or 8 years old and I can still remember a few tunes. I need to learn some more but for right now the sweet sounds of “Mary had a Little Lamb” and “Hot Cross Buns” can be heard in our house. I’ll soon be a regular Kenny G on the recorder (but without the frizzy hair). I’m hoping to learn some more of his favorites soon.

I guess Josiah is lucky that I’m something of a ‘triple threat.’ I can ‘sing,’ I can ‘dance’ (I looked like one of Gladys Knight’s Pips while dancing to the 4 Seasons) and now I can play that recorder like it’s nobody’s business. I may not be performing in concert venues across the globe but as long as I have an audience of one amazing little guy who needs some songs, I’ll keep performing.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

