Down the Drain

As I’ve mentioned before, we’ve begun to go ‘green’ in our home to keep as many toxins away from our little son as we can. So far this has mainly entailed buying organic food and switching to more natural cleaners.

The other day I got one of my first tests when I discovered the bathroom sink was clogged. In the past I would have just poured some Drano or Liquid Plumber down there and we would be good to go. But I know that stuff must be pretty nasty as there’s all sorts of warnings on the bottle and it’s been known to stink up the house pretty bad.

So off to the internet I went in search of a ‘natural’ way to unclog that drain. Now I know you’re probably thinking, “Wouldn’t the most natural method be just to pull out the junk yourself that’s in the drain?” Well, yes and no. First off, I pulled out what I could but it was pretty gross and that didn’t get everything. Also, I’m not too confident in my handyman abilities so the less poking around I do in the drain the better.

I had a sneaking suspicion that a little baking soda and/or vinegar might do the trick. It seems like one or both of those items can pretty much do anything. Seriously, you can use baking soda as a dentifrice (that’s what it says on the package…I love that word too…would be a good name for a metal band), to put out fires, to wash garbage cans, deodorize the fridge, make clay, etc.

And vinegar’s nobody’s fool either. A barber once told me I could put some vinegar on my sideburns to moisturize them. I never tried it but I’d bet it would work and I would smell great too. Also another great name for a band (the vinegar sideburns).

I ended up following some of the advice I found here and by using about a cup of baking soda and a cup of white vinegar followed 15 minutes later with some hot water, I had a clear drain in no time! Eat your heart out Drano!

It was a cheap, safe way to get the job done. Plus, when you pour the vinegar in after the baking soda, you get a cool, lava-like science experiment to enjoy for a few seconds. My luck though and the vinegar/baking soda combo will eat my pipes away or something. But for now it was a success.

Excuse me now while I go lather up those sideburns…..

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

