Givin’ Some Blood

I’ve never been a big fan of having to give blood. Ever since I was a kid I’ve been scared of needles whether it was from getting a shot or having to give blood at the doctor’s office. I’ve gotten a little better at it as I’ve become older (I no longer have to sit on my mom’s lap and I don’t need a prize or lollipop afterward). Well, I guess that’s not entirely true. Last year during my annual physical I managed to make it through the appointment by myself, but I did buy myself an ice cream afterwards as a reward.

I’m now finding the only thing worse than dealing with these needles myself, is having to watch my little son go through it. He’s not at an age yet where you can tell him why he needs to do something that hurts for a minute. 

A few weeks ago we had to take him to a lab to get some blood drawn for some tests to make sure his body is handling the chelation treatments ok. My wife and I were dreading this appointment for quite some time.

I repeatedly told my wife leading up to this appointment that it was an absolute necessity for us to remain calm the morning of the blood draw, as Josiah would be able to sense our mood. If we were calm, perhaps he would be calm too. If we were all tight and tense, he would pick up on that too.

I guess I forgot to take my own advice because as we were trying to find the lab I almost pulled right in front of some oncoming traffic. It wasn’t even close to being an accident, but the other driver looked at me and shook her head. She was probably right to do so, but I started to lose my cool and was saying things like, “Hey, if only that lady knew the stress I’m under! We’re about to give some blood here! Cut me some slack!”

My wife actually had to laugh at my little outburst and she said, “So is this what you meant by keeping the mood calm?” Oops, guess I forgot what I was doing for a moment!

After some confusion over whether we had to pay for parking or not (I think we were supposed to, but it was unclear, so we didn’t and we never got a ticket), we entered the building. Josiah wasn’t too thrilled once we entered the office we needed to go into, so I said I would check us in and my wife could just walk around the halls or something with Josiah.

I waited for what felt like an eternity for someone to come to the front desk to get us (it was actually only 5 minutes or so). I could see through the window in the office that Josiah was dancing to some music at the entryway of the pharmacy across the hall. I’m not sure what song was playing over there, but in the office I got to relax and wait for the nurse with the soothing sounds of Barry White doing a cover of Billy Joel’s “Just the Way You Are.” I wasn’t aware that cover existed but there was no mistaking Barry’s pipes.

We eventually got our chance to go to the lab and long story short, Josiah did amazing. The nurse whipped out a huge needle and it ended up popping out of the first arm she tried so she had to try his other arm. I thought I would be the one who needed a nurse because in order to help hold Josiah’s arm I needed to watch the whole process and I’m not usually too good with the sight of blood.

Josiah cried a little bit, but much less than I expected and he was rewarded with a Garfield band-aid on his arm and another trip across the hall to bust a few moves to the tunes at the pharmacy (which was actually called an Apothecary for those keeping score).

So I guess the moral of the story was that we often worry so much about how a certain event is going to go and more times than not, our kids rise to the challenge and it’s us that spend needless time worrying and fretting when we could be doing more important things like tracking down obscure Barry White cd’s.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Givin’ Some Blood”

  1. Lori Says:

    I’m bustin’ a gut over here — Great post! Glad you all made it through the appointment. Now I know how to keep my cool while getting blood work done… think I’ll hum a little Barry White next time. Could have used that advice last week!

  2. key Says:

    Barry White… and Billy Joel! That sounds like it would be interesting at worst, and amazing at best. Great story—we’ll keep learning lessons right along with you.

  3. Maddy Says:

    I used to ‘warn’ mine in advance of something nasty but then I found the OCD kicked in big time.

    I donate every 58 [ish] until I was told that I could keep my mad old cow blood!

    Best wishes

  4. A Bloody Mess « 1in150’s Weblog Says:

    […] Bloody Mess You may remember a while back I told the story about our first attempt at drawing blood from our son. It went reasonably well, so we felt […]

Leave a Reply

