Boldly going where no man should go

It’s been a pretty good week overall so far. Things got off to a bit of a rocky start when Josiah was up in the middle of the night early Monday for almost 3 hours. We were all dragging on Monday.

My wife was giving Josiah a bath Monday evening then and while she was doing that, I figured I had a couple of minutes to put my feet up and relax. I had just laid down on the couch and was starting to put a blanket on when I heard her say, “Oh no!”

I knew right away from here tone what had happened. Josiah had pooped in the tub. He’s never done this before, but I guess after being married to my wife for over 10 years, I’ve learned to read between the lines. I know what the “Oh no!” sounds like when he’s peed in the tub or if he’s trying to climb out, etc. But this one was just different enough that I knew he had gone #2 in the tub.

Sure enough that’s what happened. Not to pat myself on the back or anything, but I acted pretty calmly and swiftly. Without going into too much gory detail, I grabbed two plastic bags, used one for grabbing and the other one as a receptacle.

This was a decent idea, but I was having a hard time grabbing the “nuggets.” So I said out loud, “Screw it! I’m going in!” And then I just grabbed the remaining culprits with my bare hand and put them into the bag. My wife was pretty impressed.

With all the other stresses we have to deal with, I guess getting my hands a little wet and dirty isn’t too big of a deal.  And I can’t fault my son. When a guy’s got to go, he’s got to go.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Boldly going where no man should go”

  1. tiredmama Says:

    Really? Bare hands? I have never been that brave! Tub pooing is never fun (at least for the cleaner-upper), but it is easier to handle when you can look on the brighter side of it. Thanks for doing just that and giving me a good laugh because I can SO relate!

Leave a Reply

