Eat, Sleep & Be Merry

There are so many challenges that autism brings to a family but probably two of the biggest ones for us (and most families with an autistic child) is eating and sleeping.

Josiah seems to go through phases where he will sleep well but the eating has always been a struggle. I guess we’re fortunate that he does eat some things because I know some people have kids that need help just to learn how to chew. Josiah can certainly do the mechanics of eating but whether it’s the textures of foods, the taste, the smell, etc. he sure is one picky pete!

He’s never had a wide variety of foods that he would eat, but at least in the past even if he was just eating chicken nuggets every day you knew that he was getting some fats and protein. Well unsurprisingly he has tired of the few meals he does eat since he has them every day. He’s been so picky the last couple of weeks that my wife & I are worried he’s going to waste away before our eyes.

Fortunately he does take his supplements so we know he’s getting valuable vitamins and some fats from the likes of fish oil, etc. With all the stress we have in our lives, I’ve found myself overeating from time to time over the last year so I guess I’m consuming enough fat for the entire family!

I’m hoping this is just another phase (he’s gone on these ‘strikes’ before) and that soon he’ll start eating more again. It definitely doesn’t make things easier when you have a kid on the gluten/casein free diet either. But it wouldn’t really do us any good to have him eat things that will screw up his system, so I guess we just have to keep trying to get him to eat the things he can.

As for sleep….this isn’t always an issue but lately he’s been in the habit of being awake in the middle of the night for a couple of hours at a time. I suspect he may wake up because he’s hungry (go figure) but other than that there’s not much we can do but wait till he falls back asleep.

With our crazy schedules my wife and I seem to rarely have time to watch a movie, read a book, etc. I joked this morning at like 3 a.m. that we should use these middle of the night times to get caught up on these things. We’re up anyway, so we might as well finish watching something. But that’s easier said than done when you’re feeling like a zombie!

So if you’re looking for a gift for me for the holidays (and I imagine you all are) please just give me the gift of a good night’s sleep and if you could get Josiah to eat his vegetables too that would be a bonus.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Eat, Sleep & Be Merry”

  1. tiredmama Says:

    Too bad your son and my son don’t live closer together or they could have a playdate in the wee hours of the morning! 🙂 That’s when I tend to cetch up on the news and weather (sometimes those are interesting enough for my son to watch, but not interesting enough to keep him awake). Here’s to hoping that you get the sleep you need for Christmas!!! 🙂

  2. Chayle Says:

    I like your blogs, Uncle Joe!

    -Chayle

Leave a Reply

