Now he poops?

I’ve definitely written quite a few posts in the past about poop. We had another ‘poop incident’ tonight and I mentioned to my wife this would make a good blog post for one of us to write. She said, “You’ve pretty much cornered the market on writing about poop, so go for it.”

Part of our life revolves around our son’s pooping schedule. Some parents of autistic kids deal with diarrhea and having to change messy diapers several times a day. We have the opposite problem…our little guy is often constipated and we are constantly on high alert to see if he’s gone yet. He rarely goes #2 every day.  Sometimes it’s every 2 days. More often it’s 3 days till he goes. We’ve even had a few scary times where he stretched it out farther than that.

Tonight was night #3. You celebrate when he does go, but you know the next day the clock starts over. We try to give him extra fiber and lately we’ve been able to sneak more veggies and foods into his diet that should help out.

I had a feeling he would go tonight. There was some stinky gas earlier in the evening (or harbingers as I call them). Tonight was also bath night and my wife had just started bathing him when I heard her say, “Oh no!” I knew right away what had happened.

By now these things don’t faze me. My first thought was just, “At least he went tonight.” I got some bags to clean it up. I scooped up the evidence and started to drain the tub. We had to wait for what felt like an eternity for the tub to drain.

Josiah stood very nicely in the bathroom with us while we waited. I was just thinking, “I hope that all of it came out” when some more #2 appeared and plopped on the bathroom floor. As my wife recoiled in horror, all I could think to say was, “That looked like a Hershey bar!” I guess the 7-year-old in me will never die.

We cleaned that mess up. Still waiting for the tub to drain too. Then the urine started spraying all over the place. Great! Once that was done, I noticed he let another morsel o’ poo out on the floor. This time Josiah noticed it and thought it would be a good idea to try to squish it with his foot. We’re so lucky we were both there to deal with this cleanup. I can’t imagine it would have been too much fun if just one of us was there to do the cleaning.

Eventually we got him back in the tub, got him squeaky clean, and our evening resumed. I was just relieved that this all happened either in the tub or the bathroom floor. If he would have ran off and done his business on the carpet, it might not have been so funny.

In the end though, I’m just glad he went and now we can relax until we reset the clock tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Now he poops?”

  1. Kathy C. Says:

    LOL!!! Never a dull moment! You’re getting to be quite the expert on messy cleanups 🙂

  2. Sherry Swisher Says:

    LOL!! This was funny! I have to say you 2 are doing a wonderful job. I started reading your blogs today due to my brother who lives in Burnsville, MN calling me and asking me to send the video that you and Tahni made. I am Tahni’s friend in Az. Tanks for sharing your funny moments.

Leave a Reply

