Surprised by the response

surprised_title

Guess it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted something new here. I always intend to start a new post, but by the time I have time to do it, I’m usually taking sleep over writing a blog entry.

My last posts had to do with the documentary I produced about our family called “Surprised by Autism.” The response to this show has really been overwhelming. It was always my intent with this show to reach out to those who want to know more about autism and to give those dealing with it some hope.

I’ve received numerous phone calls and e-mails from people who have been inspired by this show. It definitely makes you realize how many people are impacted by autism in their lives. The show has been airing for almost 2 months on the channel I work for and it’s also been picked up by access stations across the country from California to New York. Even though a lot of the resources I mention in “Surprised” are Minnesota-based, the information really does apply to anyone dealing with autism anywhere.

Besides other cable tv stations, I’ve also been trying my hardest to get the program into libraries. I know we’re always checking our local libraries to see if there’s anything new on autism, so I would imagine there will be some interest in people who also scour their libraries for autism information. So far libraries mainly in the Midwest are picking it up.

I don’t want to toot my own horn, but I think the cool thing about “Surprised by Autism” is that I don’t profit off it monetarily one cent. There are some other great autism videos out there, but I don’t know of too many that you can watch in their entirety for free online. Plus, the other tv stations, libraries, and autism groups that I’ve given copies to haven’t been charged anything. I understand why other people have to charge for their autism videos as they were likely produced by large production houses that need to recoup their investment. But most families dealing with autism are already strapped financially with therapies, diets, etc., so the last thing they can afford is to spend over $20 on a dvd.

I also think “Surprised” is unique in that I don’t pretend to have all the answers. We haven’t ‘recovered’ our child yet and I don’t act like everything we say should be taken as gospel. But I just hope to drive the point home that there is hope out there and maybe someone will watch this and learn about a therapy or diet that they weren’t aware of.

My wife & I have launched a special “Surprised by Autism” website where you can watch the video for free, find out more about us, leave comments for us, etc. If you know of a place that should have a copy (a library, an autism group, etc.) just let me know!

Hopefully I’ll get back to blogging about something other than “Surprised” pretty soon. I think this project has just been my focus for so long that I’ve kind of put other things on the back burner.

Leave a Reply

