MTV’s True Life: “I Have Autism”

My wife and I have always been big fans of the ‘True Life’ series on MTV. These hour-long documentaries have followed a wide variety of subjects including “I’m Going to Performing Arts Camp,” “I Have Embarrassing Parents,” and “I’m a Jersey Shore Girl.” You name it, they’ve probably covered it by now.

In 2007, they did a show called “I Have Autism.” They follow 3 different young men with autism. One is pretty severe and is learning to use an assistive device to communicate. Another is very talented at art, but is having problems with meltdowns. And another young man has Asperger’s and is trying to launch a stand-up comedy career.

I’ve been wanting to see this for a while. I must have missed it when it first aired and even though MTV airs these things all the time, I’ve never caught a rerun. Now though, you can watch a ton of the full “True Life” episodes on MTV’s website for free. I finally got around to watching “I Have Autism” and I thought it was very interesting. It probably would have been very hard for me to watch when we were first dealing with our son’s diagnosis, but 2 years into this for me, and it’s not as hard. I can look past some of the challenges these families are facing and instead share joy with their triumphs. Plus, our son is 4 and it doesn’t do me a whole lot of good right now to project what his life will be like when he’s in his late teens like the guys who are featured in this show.

So if you’ve got a little under an hour to spare, it’s worth a watch. You’ll laugh at times, and I think you’ll cry at times, especially for the young man who is so excited to plan his first ever birthday party with friends.

I can never seem to figure out how to embed videos here if they’re not on YouTube, so if you want to watch MTV’s True Life: “I Have Autism” then go to this link.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “MTV’s True Life: “I Have Autism””

  1. Chris Says:

    Saw this a few years ago, it shows across all specturm..MTV does a good job w/ these type of documentaries

  2. tiredmama Says:

    Thanks for the great link! I loved these stories. 🙂

  3. Frank C. Says:

    This was a very interesting video. Thanks for keeping us informed about all the different aspects of autism.

  4. Rejser til Finland Says:

    OP: I might be daff (lord knows I have been told lol) but that made absolutely no sense what so ever…

  5. Shamwow Says:

    Hey hun, great website post. Do you have an rss feed that I can subscribe to?

  6. My Bonus Code Says:

    Loved to look at your weblog. I would love to recommend you that targeted traffic demonstrate most people go through blogs on Mondays. So it should preferably encourage bloggers to create new write ups over the weekend primarily.

Leave a Reply

